Cultivated Reef

Solana34Hog's new Solana!

Solana34Hog

Solana34Hog

Well here we go. My name is Nathan. I'm a bartender from Hot Springs, AR. As far as my reef-keeping experience goes, I am fairly new. My first reef experience was about 6 or 7 years ago when I lived in Austin, TX. Like most first-timers, I had a little money in my pocket and I wanted a fish tank. Not specifically a saltwater tank, just a fish tank. Off I went to Petco. Yeah, I said Petco. I was a true newbie. I knew I needed a small tank because of space restrictions in my apt. so with that in mind I (like many others I'm sure) caught my first glimpse of a beautiful picture on the front of a box. It was an Eclipse 15g tall with all the "bells and whistles" built in :lol: ) If I remember correctly, the box had a picture of a beautiful reef aquarium (I'm sure with tangs and angelfish) and came with some kind of saltwater startup kit. Well I was dooped! I had no patience back then (I was around 21 years old). I did no research at all before I waisted my money on that tank. Reef tank? It came with one 15w no bulb for God's sake! After lots and lots of research and money spent (lighting upgrades, hob skimmer, flow and such), I ended up with a pretty nice tank. However, it was never really stable like I wanted it and I kind of always wanted something a bit larger. I ended up taking it down after a couple of years and moving back to Arkansas.