inTank Media Baskets

Preventative dips for your zoanthids...

The Propagator

The Propagator

Well, We all know by now to quarantine or at the very least do a quick dip for pests and disease on our new zoanthids before entering them in to our systems. We also know various ways to kill of diseases contracted in the tanks long after they have been added.

But what about preventative maintenance dips ?

I have been experimenting now for the last 4-5 months.

I had a bout a while back with all sorts of nasties in my zoanthids ( a long time ago and all have since more then recovered ;) )

Well after months of fiddling around and finally curing the bastages I thought about a preventative dip regimen. Because lets face it. chit happens. You can literally transfer things on your skin from one tank to another just like contracting the common cold from a friend who shook hands with you after sneezing.

The very best thing I have found to do as a repeated dip regimen is frsh RODI water with a light dosing of Iodine. ( I use 5mil per half gallon and dip them for no more then 2 minutes swishing them around and watching for blisters and other signs of stress.)

I have been doing this now twice a month and I must say it is really helping my zoan's and paly's. The fresh water flushed off critters, the iodine does as well but it also helps heal infected corals. (It will just about cut the healing time in half for just about all frags including lps, and sps when fragging as well. Of course I am not saying dip sps in fresh water an iodine, or anything other then zoanthids. Please do not be confused here. I simply mean you can use the iodine for an excellent healing agent on them all. You would of course use freshly mixed, or tank water with iodine for anything else other then zoanthids. You can use SW or tank water and iodine on zoanthids as well though. There is no rule book. Its just that short term FWD's work best for me on the zoanthids.