ReefCleaners.org

Ricordea Propogation

itzclayyo

ric.jpg

Ricordea Propogation: 101

-So about a week ago I decided I was gonna frag one of my larger rics (Ricordea Florida) that only had one mouth. It is a blue-green morph. I realized that rics seem to be stereo-typed as hard to frag, and that is not true. They are actually extremely easy to frag if done properly. I have been fragging rics this way for about 3 years now and have always been successful. I have never had a death with this method. So here we go-

Supplies

-1 Florida Ric

-1 Net to retrieve the ric from the tank

-1 Pair of sharp scissors, razor blade, or scalpel

-1 Small container full of tank water

-1 Towel for fragging

-1 Towel to keep your hands dry

-1 Top to small container filled with tank water

-1 Superglue gel or Aquamend

-2 pieces of rubble, frag disks, or frag plugs

Here is the ric before fragging it, mine wasn't attached to anything so it was very easy. If you have it attached to a rock, carefully take a razor blade as close to the connection as possible to kind of pick it off. Be very gentle when doing that, it is probably the most difficult part.:

001-4.jpg

All the supplies you need, I put Aquamend in the pic but I only use superglue, I've used aquamend before but superglue is easier to me:

004-4.jpg

The top of the container is full of water, I have found it to be less stressful on the coral when it is submerged nearly throughout the entire process:

003-5.jpg

Now that you got it out of water and onto the top, it should be starting to slime up, it is completely normal:

006-3.jpg

Now for the cutting, I use scissors the most I can. I find that one easy snip is easier on yourself and the coral then a back and forward motion as you do with a razorblade. Cut directly across the center of the mouth. One snip should do it. I only cut it in half usually, but on large rics it is possible to do it more, just be sure to get a piece of mouth in each frag:

007-4.jpg

008-3.jpg