Top Shelf Aquatics

Merfin's Cadlights 39G Sig Tank

merfin70

Hey all. I'm just beginning Week #2 with my Cadlights 39g Signature series tank. Interesting adventure so far, I'm having a blast as I've always loved wildlife of all kinds. This is my first salt tank and my first tank in probably 10 years. The Cad seems awsome so far though not without its challenges (minimal directions, bad screws for the cabinet doors) but in all really small problems for a great setup. I got it from Ken at Oceanreeflections who was really great to me. Highly recommended. My live rock came on Thursday from Premium Aquatics. Its fantastic looking, as everyone on this site said it would be !! Thanks for the recommendations. Cycle seems to be underway (Amonia 0.25) so for the moment, I'm left looking for hitchikers.

So far, some good ones and some bad ones. One bristle worm jumped into the sump and is hanging out there, small mussel, some strange clear polyp/anem looking colony that comes out of little white volcanos for lack of a better description, couple of shy featherdusters. Think I have some brown glove polyps in two or three groups, unfortunately, they are upside down and in a cave based on how I organized the live rock.

And, again unfortunately, I've spotted probably 5-10 aptasia I believe !! They are really, really small though so I can't see how I could get the Joes Juice/Kalk injections to be workable as they are like 2-3mm long at best. Of course, they are also in the worst spots to get to with my live rock config (upside down in a cave and on the very bottom rock in the back corner). Not sure if I should let them grow to make it an easier kill or go with a peppermint shrimp as my first addition when the cycle ends. Advice is appreciated.