Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Fishybadmike’s NC12dx - new pics 12/6!

fishybadmike

Hi everyone! This is such a great forum with lots of info. and experience to learn from….so I decided to start a thread about my tank. Here goes…

I’ve been keeping multiple freshwater tanks for years but this is my first attempt at saltwater. Wish me luck!

Got everything from DrsFosterSmith.com. They were having a sale on JBJ 12g Nano Cube DX’s - $170 (stand included).

I set the tank up on 2/15:

- Reverse Osmosis water from local grocery store

- Instant Ocean Salt

- 15 lbs. of Nature's Ocean Bio-Active Reef Sand (Aragonite)

- 50W Visi-Therm Stealth Heater in 3rd chamber

- So far I’ve included everything it came with in the rear chambers

Added live-rock from PremiumAquatics.com on 2/21:

- 7 lbs. Kaelini Tonga

- 7 lbs. Timora

- 1 piece of Fiji

I’ve only tested the water a couple of times using API’s Saltwater test kit and Instant Ocean hydrometer. So far this is what I’ve come up with:

- Ammonia: 0.50 ppm

- Nitrite: 0 ppm

- Nitrate: 0 ppm

- pH: 7.8

- Specific Gravity: 1.020

I realize the pH and specific gravity are a bit low. I’m aiming for 8.2 and 1.025. Any suggestions about getting the pH up? I ended up with that low specific gravity by following the directions on the box. My plan is to get it up higher by doing a water change (maybe two) with a higher than normal salt concentration. Maybe that will help with the pH also?

I’m running the lights on a 12 hour schedule for now. My lights are 50/50 actinic/10K bulbs so I’m not able to run a dawn/dusk cycle. 12 hours seems long - should I cut back to around 10? The temp holds steady around 79°F during the night and 80°F during the day when the lights are on.

Well it looks like I’ve got a few weeks to wait around and figure out my stocking plan while it cycles. Here are some pictures in the meantime…What do you think of the aquascape?

post-34422-1203809263_thumb.jpgpost-34422-1203809384_thumb.jpg