Top Shelf Aquatics

ADUB's 24g Aquapod

xADUBx

Well I have been waiting to do a post about my tank until I got a decent camera to take the pictures and that day is today. Got a great camera from my girlfriend as an early Christmas present......so now I can finally show off my 24g Aquapod!

Before I start I would like to say thanks to H20's Aquapod thread. I got a lot of really great ideas from him as I am new to nanos and it has really helped me being able to follow his thread. Also a big thanks to 'c est ma' (Diane), she has answered many of my questions and helped me along the way! And to any one else who has chimed in on my posts it was greatly appreciated.

THE AQUAPOD...

I set it up at the end of Oct. this year so it has been running for a few months now.

20lbs of Fiji live rock

20lbs of live sand

Equipment, Filtration, and Lighting...

I replaced the stock power head with a MJ1200 that is located in the rear chamber. I also placed a Koralia Nano in the display. I removed all of the stock filtration and media and built an eggcrate shelf that is in the rear chamber. (Got this great idea from H20's thread, and I believe he got the idea from another nano-reefer.) On the shelf I have a layer of filter floss and a 1/4 inch think piece of blue sponge. And a stealth 50w heater finishes up the back chambers. In the display I placed a soap dish holder, that I purchased at Linens&Things, with a big wad of chaeto.

For the lighting, I bought the nanotunners 108w upgrade kit and the R2 moonlights which have 5 blue LEDs. The bulbs I choose for the 108w kit were the 10,000K daylights, 50/50, and Actinic Blue. I had this shipped to me and total install time was about 4 hours...a trip to Home Depot is included in that time.

Livestock...

4 Nassarius snails

5 Astea snails

2 Cerith snails

2 red legged Hermit crabs

1 Emerald carb

Tail Spot Blenny

Coral

Green Start Polyps

Green Zoa frag (Soloman Islands?)

Red Zoa frag (Soloman Islands?)

Purple Mushrooms