Coral Vue Hydros

My New 10g Reef

cvest100

Here is my first shot! I just set this up about an hour ago and snapped my first pic. Will be going back to my LFS and getting a couple more pieces of live rock. They were really limited on selection size and will be getting more in on Thursday. :angry: Not sure if I'll keep the rock in this same position or move it to the middle when i get more rock. Lemme know what you think!

post-32838-1197327749_thumb.jpg

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply
lilredneckman

:welcome: to N-R!

It looks like you are off to a good start. You definitely need allot more rock Thursday.

How much rock do you plan on adding?

Have you ever had a tank before or is this your first?

Make sure to take things SLOW!!Wait for your cycle to finish before adding any livestock. Only bad things happen fast.

This is my FIRST saltwater tank, but I have a 38 gallon tall freshwater. I've been keeping fish for like 8 years, but never dabbled in salt water. I'm still trying to figure out how much more live rock i need......any suggestions?

lilredneckman

Uhh my guess is that you have about 3-4 lbs right know???

If i were you i would probably get about 9 more lbs of lr and see how it looks, that just my opinion.

It's about five pounds. I also had a question about the lighting. I bought a Coralife Mini Aqualight. It has a 10000K daylight compact flourescent and a blue one as well. Will that suffice for most corals that are acceptable for a tank this size? Here's another pic of the water getting a little bit clearer!

post-32838-1197335025_thumb.jpg

More Light, More light... I would go with like..um.. Maybe 2x24 T5 lights, or maybe 1 40w PC bulb, there are so many options, and it all depends on what type of corals you want to keep. Low light softies, or high light SPS.. .or somewhere in between.