Pod Your Reef

My 55G reef with custom acrylic sump/overflow

Fishguy

I've been running a 20G nano for over 2 years now with a fair amount of success. But I've found I really don't have the time to keep up with the 20g like I should.

20G is just running a AC500 fuge and not much else.. MH lighting..

Went with a 55G initally because I figured it'd be easy to find one used.. that didn't happen.

stayed with the 55g when I had to go buy a new one so I could get started.

And made a third choice to stay with the 55G when I screwed up my inital attempt at replacing the thick black spar with acrylic and had to buy a new tank.

So yeah, 55G display tank.

painted blue back

in the process of removing the center spar and replacing it with acrylic. should be done tonight

Waiting on my diamond bits to show so I can drill the tank.. I tried the dremel approach and realized it wasn't going to cut it for 4 holes.

Made acrylic overflows, going to run durso drains and lockline in the tank.

1" drains

3/4" return, one way valve on return.

2x Seio 620 in the tank.

This tank has gone from simple ideas of a baffled 20L for a sump, but the only tank I could fit under the stand was a 10G and I didn't want to go that small.

So I figured out how to do acrylic and made a sump.

24x12x13ish. took about 30 man hours between a friend and I to construct. We came in knowing nothing about sump making beyond what we read on the web.

IMG_6399a.jpg

ASM G1X and mag 7.

the skimmer was larger than I initally expected.. and the fuge got smaller as did the return section. Hopefully I haven't shot myself in the foot making the return that small.

I've got an aquahub deluxe autotop off setup I'll be mounting to the sump via acrylic when I figure out where the water levels are going to be.